Meet Katie Kubes

 

Katie Kubes is an American Council on Exercise certified fitness professional and has been teaching Spinning® classes since 2012. She also recently became certified as a Tabata Bootcamp™ trainer.

Katie has always been passionate about health and wellness, particularly as it relates to group fitness. She loves to motivate others to push themselves past what they think is physically possible.

Starting this week, Katie will blog for us monthly.  She will share fitness ideas, stories and motivation each month.

 

How did you get your start?

My New Year’s resolution as a sophomore in college was to exercise on a more regular basis, so I started attending group fitness classes at my gym at least four days per week. I was so inspired by my instructors, their passion, and how they pushed me beyond what I thought was physically possible. I knew that I wanted to someday instruct. Post-college graduation was a perfect time, so I took the next year and became certified as a group fitness instructor through the American Council on Exercise (ACE).

Is there a new activity you would like to try?

I recently joined Uppercut, a boxing gym in my neighborhood, which has been a blast. It’s different than anything I’ve ever done. Punching heavy bags is seriously the best stress relief! I think it’s really important to switch up your workouts every now and then to engage different muscle groups. Other than that, I’d love to try pole dancing. Those women are some of the strongest athletes around!

Where is your favorite place to work out?

Right now I am really into Uppercut. The space is awesome – a huge warehouse in Northeast Minneapolis with rings, bags, machines – you name it. Everyone comes from all walks of life and is just there to work hard. It’s salt of the earth; there isn’t any pretense.

Where do you get your motivation?

Not only does exercise benefit me physically, I reap huge benefits emotionally. It is my primary mode of stress relief, and the way I feel after an hour of intense exercise is motivation enough. If I don’t exercise, I feel tired and unmotivated and am more likely eat junk food.

What tips would you share with someone interested in changing his or her lifestyle?

When it comes to changing your lifestyle and improving your health and wellbeing, there are three elements essential for sustained success: exercise, nutrition, and behavior change. You cannot have any without the other two. I think behavior change is what people struggle with the most, which is why it is so challenging for people to lose weight and lead a healthy lifestyle.

On the most basic level, here are a few easy ways to start:

  1. Eat breakfast – it is absolutely essential.
  2. Stand. Recent research has shown that sitting is the new smoking, so make an effort to stand and stretch at least once an hour.
  3. Move your body! It does not matter what you do, just do something. The simplest exercise can reduce your risk of many chronic illnesses, including heart disease.
Leave a Reply

