Tabata – Say What?

When I first heard the word Tabata, I figured it must be a form mixed martial arts. Tabata, like karate, right?  Actually, Tabata is a variation of high intensity interval training (HIIT) and is quickly becoming the new craze in the fitness industry.

 

What is it exactly, though? Tabata is short duration, high intensity (as in 100% or more of your maximum heart rate): 20 second bursts of maximum intensity exercise, followed by 10 seconds of rest.  Each interval is repeated 8 times: a 4 minute workout.

 

The best part? It doesn’t take much to reap major benefits.  Tabata Bootcamp™ was created and mastered by Mindy Mylrea http://www.tabatabootcamp.com/index.php , who did her own research to create the most effective workout.  6 minutes of a Tabata Bootcamp™ will burn an additional 250 calories 24-48 hours post-workout.  Why?  Because your body takes longer and therefore uses more energy to return to its natural state of rest.

 

I recently jumped on the Tabata bandwagon and became certified as a trainer in Tabata Bootcamp™ by Mindy Mylrea herself. It was an awesome experience and one of the best workouts I had had in a while, not to mention how sore I was even after two days (which I consider a great thing).

 

What I love about Tabata is that anyone and everyone can do anything for 20 seconds. And the intensity at which one participant works may be totally different than the intensity at which another works.  Tabata is pushing oneself to their own personal limit, so it’s totally accessible for people of all shapes, sizes, and activity levels.

 

Now that I have officially mastered the Tabata Bootcamp™ trainer certification, my goal is to start my own Tabata Bootcamp™ program, then ultimately become a master trainer so that I can train other fitness professionals to instruct the program. My secret is out!  You are now all holding me accountable to this goal!

 

Stay tuned for more details coming 1/1/15.

photo

By: Katie Kubes

Leave a Reply

